Why Facebook Isn’t My Gig

Even though I hate Facebook to an extent I still have it and I still post on it so I apologise if I do sound like a hypocrite because I probably am. First of all the main reason I am on there is so I can keep in touch with my family and friends. Mainly my best friend who lives at the other side of the world. I like posting my pictures and keeping like a sort of online scrapbook of my life. Only the good parts mainly. Which I guess is the same for most people on there. You only see the highlights and not everything that is going on in their life. I have come across those people however who do post every little thing “no Christine I do not care that you made a lasagne from scratch”. Or people who post every 5-10 minutes about the same thing over and over again such as politics or sports. I get it! You hate the Tories, don’t we all? I’m also just there for the cute animal videos.

So why do I hate it? Maybe hate is a strong word and it’s maybe not the website but more so Facebook Messenger. Also texting. I’m not the most talkative person on the planet. I don’t always have something to say, I don’t always manage to carry conversations and honestly I like my own company a lot of the time therefore don’t want to be glued to my phone or any other device because people are hoping to have a conversation. With technology a lot of people have this need for instant replies and 3 hour conversations. I’ll try my best honestly I will but I don’t like talking every single minute of the day or constantly having notifications popping up on my phone. I understand some people enjoy that but for me? I really enjoy leaving my phone in my pocket or to the side. There are other social media platforms that I also enjoy such as Twitter and Instagram where not a lot of interaction is required. When I’m not around people then I like to be in my own wee world and doing my own thing. I love being connected to people but sometimes I feel too connected and feel like I need to pull back.

I’m sure it’s just the way I am and I know I’m not alone in this feeling but sometimes there’s that feeling that people think that you don’t want to talk to them, or you have stopped liking them or being interested when it’s totally not the case. Most of the time I prefer having conversations face to face. It’s not always about what I want and I get that and if someone really wants to text or message then that’s absolutely cool and I try my best and it is the only way my best friend and I can communicate but even we don’t chat every single day and that’s probably why we are such good friends. We have the same approach to these things and are both a bit of a hermit.

 

 

Leave a comment